Doula Training

Standard

My goal for 2010 was to complete doula training.  This goal is under way, because of a suggestion from a lovely midwife I know who suggested toLabor, a doula training organization, previously known as ALACE.  So beginning this Friday, June 25 until June 27, I will be completing my doula training workshop in Virginia.  toLabor’s training allows me to use the two (soon to be three) previous births (prior to the workshop) that I have attended to count toward my total of six that I must attend to become certified as a birth doula.

I also have some fantastic books that I am in the process of reading.  To see this list of books and the other certification requirements, click here.

Since last posting, I had the opportunity to attend a birth at a local hospital.  This mother was one of my HypnoBirthing moms, and she was facing a deadline of 41 weeks (the hospital’s policy is to give birth before 41 weeks, or an induction will be ordered), and instead, went into labor the day before her induction date.  She did a fantastic job of getting all the way through her labor, while using the support of her husband, her friend and me.  Her baby boy was born early on the morning of the 9th, and was completely unmedicated.  Beautiful reason to want to be a doula.

I will be offering “in-training” doula rates as I complete my training, so if you’re interested in being one of my six births, please contact me!  I am not completely sure of how much the rate will be, but I will post that after I complete my workshop.

Leave a Reply

