Life is happening!

Standard

As many of you know, my family and I live in a military town, and we are no different.  We too, are proud to be a military family.  I couldn’t be prouder of my husband, and all that he does for us, and for his constant support as I completed my Social Work degree in December, and embarked on this passion I have chosen as my career.  I love him dearly for all that he has done.

I have had some challenges in deciding what I wanted to do “when I grow up”, and at the age of 26, I decided that I needed to be a HypnoBirthing Childbirth Educator.  It took some courage, some evaluating my goals, and a lot of perseverance.  Without my Social Work degree, I would have struggled greatly with the challenges of communication, advocacy, and empowerment with the couples I teach.  Each of my couples is so special to me, and I have used my Social Work skills to properly honor my relationship with each of them.

In all of this that I’ve done, there has been some sacrifice as a mother to Sydney.  I went back to school when she was 13 months old, and as I did, she weaned herself from breastfeeding.  I guess she felt the pressure and added juggling of schedule of parenting, school, and wifely duties, and decided to wean.  I’ve missed nursing her ever since, and probably always will, it was such a special, bonding time in our lives together as mother and daughter.   So as I started back to school, I had to be away from her for increasingly lengthy times, which was a challenge because I was with her all day everyday prior to that.  My schedule, by the time my last semester rolled around, was devoted primarily to school as I worked hard to complete 400 hours of internship at the local Department of Social Services.  I’m so thankful that she has adjusted so well to the shift in schedule, my lack of patience at times, and my being her full-time mom once again.  She is the sweetest, most wonderful daughter I could ever wish for.

Now, in April of 2010, I am making great progress in reaching more people through HypnoBirthing.  I have taught a handful of couples, and each one that has given birth has had a different and positive experience in their own way.  HypnoBirthing is so much about the mind, and allowing things to happen.  It takes great dedication and drive to make it to the finish line of birthing, just as a marathon does for a runner.  HypnoBirthing is about conditioning the body to follow the lead of the mind, and when it happens, it is amazing and beautiful, and can be life changing.  I am so proud of each one of my couples for all that they do!

This is a beautiful time in my life, and I wouldn’t have been able to do it without help and support from so many.  Thank you so much, to all of you who have believed in me, pushed me, encouraged me, and stood by me as I’ve reached for my dreams.

~Teva

Leave a Reply

