A Day with Two HypnoBirthing Families

Standard

The day my Sydney was born (Remembering our HypnoBirth)

Today was filled with so much joy, love, and productiveness!  I taught my 10:30 HypnoBirthing class #2 (the long class) to one of my couples in the comfort of their home.  What should have been a 2 and a half hour class lasted for three and a half hours because the HypnoBirthing mom and I are both talkers, so we talked and talked!  I find that my couples are all so amazing, and this couple is certainly no different!  It’s amazing how much people have in common if they will just take the time to talk to each other.

I find that I learn so much from each of my couples, and I’ve said this to many of them.  I think initially, I wanted to impact peoples’ lives, make a difference, you know, the dream of most people in a helping profession.  It’s the same thing I felt when I embarked on my Social Work degree so many years ago.  As time has gone by, I find that things shift, I mature, and I learn far more from my couples than I would have ever thought.  They all hold such a special place in my heart and my life, and I don’t think I could ever forget them.  They are all such blessings, and have all touched my life in such incredibly beautiful ways.

After my class, I returned home to get a gift for one of my couples that gave birth to  a beautiful baby girl last week.  While at home, I picked up my family so we could venture across town to visit this very special family.  I was so pleasantly welcomed, and pleased to know that this baby is turning out to be a very chilled out HypnoBirthing baby.  Typical sleepy, calm-natured, beautiful, serene baby girl.  I held her as my Sydney walked around their house exploring, trying to find something to interact with, asking questions, and being my sweet little girl that was once smaller than the sweet baby girl I was holding.  It thrilled me that though this family did not have a typical HypnoBirth, their experience was still helped by all they had learned.

I am excited that as I teach more families, it means that more babies are born using such a wonderful birthing method.  As a result, these babies are among some of the most peaceful I’ve met, which reaffirms that where I am now is where I am meant to be.  I cannot and will not take complete credit for this resulting peaceful nature of babies, because the families that I work with make such conscious choices during their pregnancies and birthing.  Each family is so different, so dynamic, so supportive, and so open to what HypnoBirthing has to offer.  These families choose their birthings and those choices certainly impact every aspect of their babies lives.

I am so thankful everyday for the path that brought me here, to this day.  I am proud of the accomplishments I’ve made, but most of all, I’m so very proud that the families that I have the privilege to work with are making empowered choices about the ways in which their babies are born.

-Teva

Leave a Reply

